Whānau Hui

05 Nov Whānau Hui

Our final whānau hui for 2020 was a celebration of achievers and farewell to some of our Year 13 students. After a shared kai, our kapa haka group gave their first performance of the year. A special aspect of this performance was the haka, He Oranga Mai performed especially for Matua Gilbert who drove from Papamoa to attend this hui.

We heard from Whaea Shanna Rope who spoke about her total immersion study experience in Tauranga. Reigan-Amohia Popata-Williams (Year 10, Ngāti Kahu) and Ava Taiaroa (Year 9, Ngāti Tūwharetoa) spoke about the impact the junior Māori Leadership programme has had on them. Year 12 students Baylin Paraha (Ngāpuhi), Michael Long (Ngāti Whātua, Ngāpuhi) and Jannise Graham (Ngati Kahungunu) acknowledged the Year 13 whānau tutor students Christina Appleby Lambert (Tūhoe, Ngāti Kahungunu), Marama Downes (Ngāti Tūwharetoa), Bri Pearce (Ngāti Maniapoto), Bella Wiki (Ngāpuhi) and Bray Thaivichith-Hoera (Ngāpuhi) and the impact they have had as mentors and role models.

Matua Gilbert also acknowledged Rachel Poole (Ngāti Rangiwewehi, Ngāti Tarāwhai) and Khiva Potatau (Ngāti Kahu) who along with Christina, Marama, Bella, Bri and Bray have been committed leaders for learning Te Reo and promoting Te Ao Māori.

We also celebrated Year 11, 12 and 13 students who have maintained 100% Merit and Excellence grades in 2020 and gained leadership positions for 2021.

100% Merit and Excellence

Year 11

Ava Purvis (Ngāti Tūwharetoa)

Charlotte Tukiri (Tainui)

Emma Wells ( Ngāpuhi)

Kate Hari ( Ngāi Tahu)

Kayla Ngaropo (Ngāpuhi)

Maniah Waihape (Ngāti Porou)

Zoe Purvis (Ngāti Tūwharetoa)


Year 12

Brylee Webb (Ngāti Wai)

Isabella Reeve (Ngāpuhi)

Tamara Schramm (Tainui)


Year 13

Anais Ross (Ngāti Porou)

Christina Appleby-Lambert (Tūhoe, Ngāti Kahungunu)

Rachel Poole (Ngāti Rangiwewehi)


Students who have gained leadership positions for 2021

Year 11

Natasha Munn   (Waikato)

Kayla Ngaropo (Ngāpuhi)

Year 12

Emma Cambie (Ngāpuhi)

Isabella Reeve (Ngāpuhi)

Jannise  Graham (Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa)

Tamara Schramm (Tainui)

Baylin Paraha (Ngāpuhi)

Michael Long (Ngāti Whātua)

Reuben Powell (Ngāti Wai)


by Alison Taylor, Deputy Principal

If you can't find what you are looking for on this website, or if you want to contact us directly for a specific reason, please feel free to use this 'Parent Help Desk' form to contact us. The appropriate person will respond to your enquiry within 24 hours from Monday to Friday.
Parent Help Desk
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.